Ayla is in Amman!

So, finally I am here in Jordan after years of wanting to visit! Six weeks ago, on a whim, I booked a tour to Jordan with G adventures. As flights are booked separately, I opted for Jordanian Airways that depart out of Terminal 3, Heathrow.

The flight was comfortable although leg room was a bit of a squeeze. I was lucky to have the middle seat next to me free. I was sat near the back of the plane, which wasn’t an issue other than the fact it meant I didn’t get a choice of meal. And unlucky for me, it was beef and mushrooms with a side of purée potato. There isn’t an option to select ‘mushroom allergy’ on meal preferences, so just have to accept whatever I’m given. This is the first time I’ve had this issue though. Because I was only eating the potato purée, I asked for a second helping and they kindly gave it to me. I was still so hungry though.

With my book in the front pocket, I had no space!

The plane had a variety of movies available, and I watched The Last King; a movie I’ve wanted to watch for a while, and following that, the first 30 minutes of Black Adam, which I’ll continue to watch on my return flight in a week’s time.

That was the easy part of my day. It was going to get a lot more stressful. A bit of context before I go on, during my last G Adventures tour, they had screwed up my starting hotel. I had booked an extra two nights before my tour, and upon arriving at the hotel at 1am in the morning, they told me I was actually meant to be a different hotel. So, not wanting this to happen again, I contacted the hotel to make sure they’re aware of my reservation and also there would be someone to check me in as on the website it said check-in close at midnight (they didn’t reply). I also contacted G Adventures to ensure that there will be someone there to greet me at the hotel and that they’re aware of my coming; the service advisor was so nonchalant, and he clearly didn’t give a flying ****. So already, it wasn’t the lack of trying by me, wanting to confirm my stay at my hotel.

A friend of a friend, Ahmed, picked me up from the airport and took me to my hotel. Wanting to see me checked in first, he went to the desk to give my name, my passport, and so on. The guy at the front desk was very hostile – I appreciate this could be the Arabic way – but for me at 1:30 am, to be told that I hadn’t booked a room despite having a printout saying I had booked a room, was not helpful nor was it the best start to my trip.

He said multiple times we don’t have a record of you, that I didn’t have a reservation, and I kept on saying this confirmation says that I am staying here tonight. I was exasperated. I honestly think he was going to kick me out and not give me the room if it wasn’t for the arguing of Ahmed and his cousin, who was with us. Eventually the desk said that my room is not ready for me, they have to make it up and it will be ready in an hour’s time.

An hour! Poor me.

The friends stayed with me until my room was ready, which was really kind and generous, and I couldn’t stop thanking them for keeping an eye out for me. Once I got into my room, at around 2:30am, I had a shower and tried to cuddle down, but the tiredness and dehydration meant I had an awful headache. I took some pain relief, put Headspace on and managed to unwind about 4am.

It felt offensive when my alarm went off at 9 am, but needs must. I had to get up to eat breakfast. It wasn’t dissimilar to other continental breakfasts I’ve had, but the unusual inclusion this time round was scrambled eggs mixed with cucumber.

I also had some pickled veggies, some pastries, butter beans, beef sausage fried with peppers and onions, and cheese.

Not long afterwards, Ahmed’s driver came to pick me up and take me out for the day. The first stop was to get me a SIM card. I always feel a bit safer in a new city if I have internet access.

We continued our journey through windy, and hilly streets, on our way to the Roman Theatre. We didn’t get far, fast. Beeping and more beeping was all I could hear, with my arms prickling in the heat from being in the sun. I did wish I wore a long sleeved top at that point!

Maybe an hour or so later, we arrived. I was a bit out of breath walking up to the top, but it was worth it!

My entourage loved taking photos with the angles
The Citadel is visible too left

Around this area, there was some cool street art too, which I had read in advance was a “thing”.

After the amphitheatre and on our way to The Citadel, we stopped off for some knafeh, which for me and fellow turks, is kunefe. It’s a layered cheese dish, topped with spun pastry and sweet syrup. I had read in advance of one place worth visiting, Habibah Sweets, and it was the very same place!

I had a portion of plain and one pistachio. It was a massive portion altogether! I didn’t know how much it cost, but given the queue of locals outside, I don’t think it was expensive. Not really liking kunefe when I’ve had it before, I’m not sure what made this one different. Anyways, I was pretty hungry at that point so it was a tasty, albeit sweet lunch.

When we got to The Citadel, I saw that the entrance fee price for tourists was 3 dinar, about £3.50.

Temple of Hercules
It was a lot windier at the top here!
Umayyad Palace gateway – the dome was reconstructed

It’s thought that The Citadel had inhabitants during the Bronze Age. The museum had many old artefacts on site, including these interesting coffins…

Each would house several corpses

After some chicken shawarma that I insisted I was too full up for, but was very tasty, I said my goodbyes to my driver for the day, and arrived back at my hotel to freshen up, and meet my roomie and the rest of the tour gang.

We went out for dinner and I ordered falafel and salad. It was quite expensive compared to what others ordered – I think the salad is what was expensive, but if there’s one thing I’ve learnt on these tours, when you can, eat salad and veggies. my bill came to about 10 dinar – £12.

I tried to make a wrap out of it

Day one, done!

Keep in touch - leave me a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.