Koh Phi Phi to Phuket

It’s been a little while since I last posted! I’ve been very busy doing not very much 🙂
At the moment I’m sat in Melbourne airport waiting for my flight to Sydney, so have some time to write about my last week in Asia, which was spent on the island of Phi Phi and also in Phuket.

Go back to the end of February, I boarded the ferry from Phuket (which was running late of course) and headed to the sunbathing deck to catch a few rays. I finally felt like I was on holiday, the sun glaring down on me and dance tunes blasting from someone’s speaker (see if you can spot it in the photo below!).

The views were really nice too. I got my book out and enjoyed the two hour journey.

My hostel was near the beach, so I had some fantastic views each morning, mere metres away from where I was sleeping.

I befriended a few people in my dorm, and one of them came with me on the exhausting trek up to a viewing point. It seemed endless, and sweat was pouring out of every available pore by the time we reached the top, but it was worth it for the view.

I treated myself to an overpriced ice lolly once I got up there.

And that was the end of my time on Phi Phi, because a few hours later, I couldn’t stop throwing up. I spent the rest of the following day sleeping and resting, as I still didn’t feel tip top. I almost made it through Asia without picking up some kind of bug!

I did manage to get this pretty photo while I was waiting for my ferry back to the mainland. Destination: Patong, Phuket!

Feeling myself again, although looking very hot and flustered, I was relieved to check in to a nice and clean hostel where I could freshen up and make myself look a bit more me. Shampoo and conditioner works wonders! The two Germans in my room invited me out for “drinks and dancing”. But first stop, dinner! I ordered mussels in garlic.

After dinner we went to some bars, that were suitable for a certain clientele. The working girls were very sweet, and posed for a photo with me. It was a funny night.

In the afternoon of the following day, I took a bus to the north of Phuket to a beach resort called Nai Yang. I stayed in a hotel where my room had its own pool, a giant bathtub and a super king bed with drapes on – all to myself! It was heaven, and I loved it. Nothing quite beats sitting in your own pool, drinking tea and listening to jazz music from the hotel bar. After staying in dorm rooms with shared bathrooms for five weeks, this piece of luxury was extremely well received! I also had a slap up meal of green mussels cooked in a mint and spicy tomato sauce.

On the Friday, mum and dad arrived! We went for a walk along the beach, splashed about in the pool, and caught up on what we’ve all been up to.

As you can see, living out of a backpack isn’t easy. Unpacking and repacking all the time!

So that night I was supposed to fly to Australia. Aaaaand it didn’t happen. Apparently a British citizen needs a visa to travel down under, which none of my Aussie friends knew either! Normally a passenger could get a visa at the airport, but it just so happened that on that evening, the Australian e-visa system was down for maintenance. Back to the hotel I went, kipping on the sofa in mum and dad’s room. At least I got to spend some extra time with them, and I really felt like I had a holiday. Cocktails by the pool, not worrying about the cost of dinner (I had been living on a strict budget), and massages on the beach. It was so relaxing, and perhaps it was meant to be.

So that’s it! My five week Asia experience is over. I can’t help but look back and feel incredibly grateful for the opportunity. Yeah it sucked losing my job, but having the time and money to go off and experiencing new cultures has been life changing (note to Linda who will be reading this, you were right!).

What I’ve learnt in Asia

  • A moped can transport pretty much anything. Cows, a flat screen TV, four people.
  • Vietnamese love their small dogs, and karaoke. I think the two have yet to be combined.
  • Over Chinese New Year, everywhere shuts. I definitely won’t make the mistake of trying to backpack through an Asian country during this time.
  • Cambodia has ladyboys of the night too. It’s not just prevalent in Thailand.
  • I love pink blossom even more. I didn’t think it was possible.
  • Asian noodles are definitely different to the noodles I get back home; it’ll never be the same again.
  • Vietnamese know how to pronounce my name. I was pretty pleased by that.
  • Embrace the bum gun – it’s hygienic and saves trees!
  • I LOVE Laos. Still my favourite country that I’ve visited so far.
  • South Koreans know where Bournemouth is. They are big football fans.
  • Chiang Mai mosquitos love me. My legs were bright red and swollen from all the bites covering them.
  • I don’t need my entire wardrobe. I’ve disliked wearing the same clothes day-in-day-out, but I’ve survived.

One thought on “Koh Phi Phi to Phuket

Keep in touch - leave me a comment!

